Blondies: The Better Brownie.

In my opinion, at least. Not that there’s anything wrong with brownies – because brownies are amazing. There’s just something amazingly enchanting to me when I bite into a brownie that’s kind of a cookie that’s kind of not a cookie and isn’t even brown..!! :)

And these aren’t just any blondies, these are chocolate chip, oat and cardamom blondies. Say that one five times fast, yeah?

I’ll be honest, before I baked these, cardamom was not something I had in my kitchen, let alone something I had familiarly worked with in the past. But when I found these blondies on foodgawker (which led to Evil Shenanigans’ blog), I just *had* to bake them. And get some cardamom. A word to the not-so-wise like myself: cardamom.is.expensive. I have actually read that it is the third most expensive spice by pound in the world, coming in only behind saffron and vanilla.

But they looked soooooooo delicious, and I baked them, the first time, without cardamom. They were good…but missing something. But I just couldn’t bring myself to pay $13 for a spice I was going to use one time in this one recipe. I pouted and sulked. And then, while on an excursion to Whole Foods, I stumbled across some – for $4!! Four dollars…not 13! Four! Holy day in heaven, thank you baby Jesus, I could buy it and not feel guilty now!!

So I brought my cardamom home and decided I wanted to give these blondies a whirl the right way. The stuff smells amazing – almost like licorice. And it is definitely the “something” that had been missing from this recipe before. If you can, try not to omit the cardamom like I did the first time. It really does make a difference. And if you’ve got a Whole Foods nearby, check and see if they have it for less than your local grocer. I call that a steal. Plus, it’s Whole Foods – I’m not buying anything synthetic or illegitimate. Two points in the awesome category for that find!

Let’s get baking!

So, Ingredients. Apparently I lost the photo of the ingredients somewhere (the Ryan just bought me a new camera – yay!!! and I suppose in formatting my memory card, the old photos were lost. So odd, I swear I took a picture) so I’ll just list them out:

Flour (All purpose is fine – 2 & 1/4 cups), Baking Powder (1 tsp), Cardamom (1/2 tsp), Salt (1/4 tsp), Light Brown Sugar (1 cup, packed), Butter (1 cup, room temp), Vanilla (2 tsp), Eggs (2), Honey (1/4 cup), Rolled Oats (1 cup – not instant!!), Chocolate Chips (1 cup).

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt and cardamom. Mix until blended (and enjoy that smell!!)

In a separate bowl, combine eggs, brown sugar, vanilla, butter and honey. Whisk until well combined.

Combine the wet and dry ingredients in the large bowl and mix until just combined.

Add the oats and chocolate chips.

Fold until combined, but do not overmix. The recipe suggests about 5 folds.

In a greased brownie pan, add the mixture. The recipe suggests using wax paper to line the pan, but I did that the first time and found it more of a hassle than a help, so I didn’t do it this time. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes, or until blondies are golden brown all over and puffed up.

A little over puffed, but deeeeeeeeeelicious!! :D Let them cool and then dig in!! The Ryan took these to work today – when he gets home, I’ll find out his fellow engineers’ verdict: stay tuned!

2 Comments

Filed under Baking, Cooking, Food, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Blondies: The Better Brownie.

  1. I love blondies. I can’t stop making different versions with assorted mix-ins. http://madebymike.wordpress.com/tag/blondies/

Leave a Reply

