Coming up this week, potato wedges & feature.

So this upcoming week is going to be a bit hectic for me..Actually, the next two are. I am having surgery next Wednesday and will be down and out for the count for about a week – maybe a little more, maybe a little less. Depends on how much my body hates me.

Sadly, this means that I’m bogged down with double the homework and it’s a mad rush to do all of that PLUS my term paper by midnight next Tuesday.

That being said, there will be some cooking AND baking this week! I will be cooking a recipe my dear friend Mike inspired (we went back and forth over email about what I could cook for the blog this week) – and let’s just say that it’s a little Italian in its flare! πŸ™‚ But I’m not telling what it is just yet! Look out for it Thursday Friday (sorry, homework > cooking this week..:( And the Ryan is off, so I can send him on grocery store recon..BWAHAHA). And Saturday, I am going to do a guest collaboration with the girl who has inspired me to get out and bake more, my lovely friend Jessica. She is an avid and obsessive baker, and as an early birthday gift, we’re going to pick her up some new, good-quality tips and bags for icing. And since we’re also going to be in the vicinity of not only a Whole Foods, but Sur La Table, Bed Bath & Beyond, Williams Sonoma and Crate and Barrel, we are absolutely going to be putting together a giant baking collaboration of awesomness – all organic, and all from scratch! Look for that on Saturday!

In the mean time, remember how in my lemon sugar cookie post, I stated that I had about a quarter to a half cup of icing leftover? I decided to make a second batch of cookies to use the rest of that icing, and then send the Ryan to work with them. Many thanks to the Weis around the corner, as they are smart enough to carry cake flour – what a difference! I have not yet baked the dough (I’m letting my oven cool down from 450 degrees that I used for part of tonight’s dinner), but the quality, taste, and malleability of it is exquisite. These will definitely come out much nicer than my previous attempt. Very excited! Check out that pretty dough (sorry, only had camera phone..the Ryan likes to wander off with my digicam sometimes):

Cookies, 2nd time around - with cake flour!

And now for a FEATURE! Remember the avocado aioli? Remember the Mmmm, delicious potato wedges recipe I linked to it? Come to find out, the recipe was more for a different aioli as opposed to the potatoes AND aioli…so I improvised and made up my own recipe for potato wedges, which I baked (hence the 450 degree oven) tonight on my cast iron griddle. Mmm, they came out nice and crispy! And we used the aioli to dip them in. Yum, yum, YUMMY!!

Avocado aioli & potato wedges

So this feature got me thinking: if any of you, along the way, cook any of the recipes that I make, email me or leave me a comment and let me know! I will feature it each week (or more if it starts to become a trend) in one of my posts along with your name and what the recipe was. πŸ™‚ If you made any changes, let me know that too! I love to learn about other peoples’ creative twists, and certainly the way I do it is not the only way.

And finally, a quick step by step on how I did my potato wedges (I don’t measure, so don’t laugh):

Preheat your oven to 450 and let it do its thing.

Next, clean two Russet potatoes and slice them into wedges. In a bowl, toss them with 2 tbls of olive oil to coat. I added garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, smoked paprika, rosemary and a small dash of chipotle pepper (for the Ryan) and tossed to coat. Don’t ask me for measurements, I don’t measure. I just kind of dumped it all in there. I can tell you, however, that I dumped more garlic powder (for the Ryan as well) in there than anything else.

I then sprayed my cast iron griddle (that lives permanently in our oven – and is in constant need of re-seasoning 😦 ) with a little bit of oil and laid them on there for approximately half an hour. You may want to stop every 10 minutes and turn them, lest they get a little bit burnt on one side. Check them after the half hour and they should be nice and crispy. Leave them in longer if you have to, however. I had a second set of potatoes that didn’t fit onto the griddle that I put in an aluminum-foil lined bake pan, and they came out all grody after half an hour. So we just chucked them (yeah, I totally make mistakes in the kitchen!).

And voila! There you go. πŸ™‚ Any questions, comments? Leave ’em below. Bon appetite!

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking, Cooking, Food

Leave a Reply

