Stuck with leftovers?? (Part 2 – Quiche)

It’s the weekend! Sleep in, snooze, blog all day, shop, and, of course, cook.

This morning, after we cleaned the cob webs out of our brains and said good morning, the Ryan rolled over, smiled and asked, “So, whatta ya have in mind for breakfast?”

I wasn’t in the mood for boring ol’ bacon and eggs, and I didn’t feel like making pancakes…but I was too lazy to get up and go out to buy ingredients for something else, so I started rummaging around in the kitchen (and my brain).

Friday, I made chicken pot pie. Since the Ryan was off, I sent him to the store to get me pre-made pie crust. Which he got. As frozen pie crusts. (It wasn’t until after I came home we went back out and got the Pillsbury ready-mades.) A for effort, and now I have pie crust. And hey, not only do I have pie crust, but I have exactly 3 eggs, 6 pieces of bacon, a bag of spinach I didn’t use, about a quarter gallon of milk and a bag of cheese. Answer: QUICHE!

Yes, it was the perfect idea – a big breakfast with yummy ingredients, and something we will have leftovers from that we can eat again during the week if we so choose. 🙂 Not exactly the healthiest thing to make, but it was a nice change of pace.

The only problem was…I’ve never made a quiche before. Hmm…Ever since last semester in French class, however, I had been *dying* to learn how (but got wrapped up in life, work, school, and generally just forgot). As a rule, in my French class, we somehow always seemed to get onto the topic of food. That class was hilariously fun, but always made us hungry. Toward the end of the semester, one of my classmates brought us  quiche and a chocolate ganache, along with a history of both (to make it look like ‘homework’). My professor came into the room, sat down and said, “Talk amongst yourselves in French while I eat this. ;)” We got to eat and get credit for it. Most recently, the branch chief at my job retired, and as a parting gift, she brought us her “famous quiche,” which was truly the best I’ve ever had. Alas, she took her recipe with her when she left, though.

So, this morning, when I suggested the idea of quiche to the Ryan, he was all for it. And recently, he has been getting into “Good Eats” (Alton Brown’s Food Network show) at work while he is waiting for his programming stuff to…well, program. Or compile. Whatever the techies call it. So he brought up YouTube and we sat and watched together.

So, after viewing Good Eats, I decided that quiche would be perfect. Not only that, but it would teach the Ryan the difference between a quiche and a pot pie. What now?! Using Alton Brown’s suggestions, I went to town and made a quiche. Here goes:

First, the ingredients. For quiche, as you observed above if you watched Alton Brown (or if you just know already), you can pretty much use anything you have hanging around..plus egg & milk/cream/half and half. I didn’t have any cream or half and half, and was leary of the light cream I used in the vodka sauce a few weeks ago (even if it didn’t expire until May, I opened it more than 7 days ago so…when in doubt, throw it out), so I used milk (1 cup). We drink 2%, and should I do this recipe again, I will be using whole milk or heavy/light cream. Pie crust (frozen, not graham cracker), cheese (about a cup, just estimate), chopped baby spinach (about a cup or so), 3 eggs, and bacon (6 slices).

Since we only had 6 pieces of bacon left, I went ahead and started frying them all. I like my bacon extra crispy anyway, but I felt it was essential for the quiche so it could be crumbled.

First, I chopped a bunch of the baby spinach, probably about a cup or so of loose leaves.

I set the baby spinach on a dish towel (it was green, so you won’t even notice ^_~) and wrung it out to get allllllllll of the moisture out of it. You *MUST* do this if you are using spinach, it has to be dry or it will make your quiche yucky from the excess liquid. A cheesecloth will work well, too, but I didn’t have one.

The bacon had crisped up, and I put it on a plate on top of multitudes of paper towels to absorb the grease. When it was cooled and the grease had been dabbed off, I crumbled it up like so.

Be careful while you do this, as boyfriends and vultures alike hover for a chance to eat tiny bits of bacon. (As you can see, the Ryan and Sam were quite keen. But of course, Lestat wasn’t left out, and scored a small piece as well.)

I decided to place equal parts of spinach, cheese and bacon in the pie crust, and tossed it loosely. *DO NOT* pack down your ingredients, the egg/milk mixture needs somewhere to go in order to penetrate all of the filling for the quiche.
I measured 1 cup of milk, and dropped it and the three eggs into a nice spouted bowl. I whisked them together until the eggs had bubbles in them and it was a nice, light yellow color.
I then poured the “royale” (what the French call the mixture of egg/cream) into the pie dish, moving in a counter-clockwise direction around the outside working into the middle to assure even distribution.
Looks good, no? Pop it in the oven at 350, for about 40 minutes. Start checking at 25, however (especially if you use cream). If your quiche has a set, jello-y texture, it is good to go. You can also test your quiche by popping a hole in the middle with either a knife or a toothpick, pressing on it, and seeing if any liquid comes out. If it does, your quiche needs to cook longer.
Looks nice, no? 🙂 Nummy. The only thing I didn’t like about the way this came out was that it was not firm enough, which I attribute to the low fat content of 2% milk as opposed to something like heavy cream or half and half. I will be using one of those two options should I make this again.
Enjoy your breakfast!
Leave a comment

Filed under Baking, Cooking, Food, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

