Project Pumpkin: Not just for Autumn!

Ello, loves! You see that title up there? For the next two days, I am going to be givin’ a giant can of pumpkin I bought some serious lovin’.

Why, you ask? Well, first and foremost, because I loooooooove pumpkin!! It is delicious. Omnomnom. But secondly, I make a killer pumpkin bread (which the Ryan will eat an entire loaf of by himself. It has been likened to crack), and this past weekend, to my surprise, my cousin Theresa emailed me a very large amount of recipes that had been passed down through my family from generation to generation. I will be cooking many of these for this blog, as I feel that it is important to preserve family legacy and do honor to those who came before me and made my existence in this world possible. Thanks, guys!

So as I was browsing through all the recipes she sent me, I came upon one titled Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies. Let me say that again: pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. I love pumpkin. I love chocolate. I love cookies! It’s a triple win!! Since the engineers at the Ryan’s place of employment thoroughly enjoy my pumpkin bread, I knew that if I got a large can of pumpkin, I could spit out a couple loaves for them and one for him here at home. I can’t really trust him not to eat the ones for his co-workers on his commute in, but I can certainly try by making sure he knows, in the back of his mind, that there is a loaf here just for him. One day, I might actually end up making about eight loaves for all of those men. I am told one or two loaves only lasts half an hour. How they’ll feel about the cookies? I can guinea pig ’em. After all, we guinea pigged ’em with our cake balls (which, for some reason, scared them – the Ryan explained it to me as the fact that the cake balls were blatantly candy-looking and bad for you made them less ‘but I’m really on a diet’ friendly, as opposed to heaping amounts of bread. Okay, I guess I can see that?). Nerd engineers never cease to amaze me.

So, cookies and bread? One star ingredient, two days, lots of cathartic baking among hectic finals? Game on.

Ingredients: Pumpkin (1 cup), Sugar (1 cup), Egg (1), Oil (1/2 cup), Flour (2 cups), Baking Powder (2 tsp), Cinnamon (1 tsp), Baking Soda (1 tsp), Milk (1 tsp – dissolve the baking soda in the milk), Salt (1/2 tsp), Chocolate Chips (1 cup), Vanilla (1 tsp), (Optional: 1/2 cup chopped nuts).

In a large bowl, combine oil, pumpkin, sugar and egg.

Stir to mix into a pretty orange consistency. 🙂

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.

Add a little bit of the dry ingredients to the wet and mix with a mixer or whisk.

Mix all of it together until thoroughly combined.

Remember to dissolve your baking soda into your milk. If anyone can tell me why you are supposed to do it this way, please let me know. I was not able to find a reason why, and I don’t know enough about baking to even try to guess. I did find this exact recipe on the internet while I was researching the reason, though. Must be out of an old grandma cookbook or something.

Add the baking soda mixture, chocolate chips and vanilla to your dough and stir to combine.

Mmmm, yummy! Make sure you evenly distribute the chocolate chips.

Drop your cookie dough onto the cookie sheet. 🙂 Bake for about 10 minutes at 375.

After the cookies have baked, let them cook for a few minutes and then remove from the sheet to a wire cooling rack. Lather, rinse, repeat.

These cookies taste just like chocolate chip cookies. With pumpkin spice. They’re quite good. ^___^The Ryan told me that he thinks that the engineers will like and eat these cookies, and that they will be waiting in anticipation for my bread as well. 🙂 Good thing I’m making that tomorrow, eh? Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Baking, Cooking, Food

4 responses to “Project Pumpkin: Not just for Autumn!

  1. Thank goodness I am not the only one that loves pumpkin year round!! This stuff is amazing..and good for you!! WIN WIN!

  2. Theresa

    FYI, I didn’t do the powder and milk thing separate, I just mixed it in like normal and it was fine! Takes a step out!

Leave a Reply

