Mother’s Day Muffins

Ahhhh, Mother’s Day. The one day a year we celebrate Moms and all it means to be a mother.

At the moment, my experience with motherhood boils down to two cats and other peoples’ children that I have babysat and given back. Maybe I’ll have some someday, but for now, I am happy only cleaning up thrown-up grass and scooping a litterbox. ๐Ÿ™‚

There have been many mommies in my life, though, that deserve to be celebrated, and I am grateful for each one of them that has shaped my existence and helped me define who I am as a human today. So thanks, moms!

In the mean time, the Ryan and I will be making the hour drive down to my mom’s house tomorrow to bring her flowers, a card, and make her a Mother’s Day brunch. She had the choice between brunch or dinner, and she said, “I like breakfast!” so brunch it is. Tomorrow will be filled with normal & chocolate chip pancakes, sausage, OJ, milk, eggs and, of course – blueberry muffins.

Think she’ll like them?

I am excited to go because not only do I get to cook, but I will be able to take a walk down by the water and dig my toes into the sand before the proverbial Memorial Day crowd comes flocking to the water’s edge and the town council starts charging money to even look at the sand. I like living here in suburbia, but there are definitely days I miss walking on the boardwalk or looking for shark’s teeth. I also intend to possibly get a manicure and treat my mom to a pedicure depending on how much time we have and other activities she may or may not have planned. We may end up taking everyone to go get ice cream and stroll around down by the water – who knows!

I have been wanting an excuse to buy a muffin tin (yet another thing the Ryan did not have. Bit of back story – when I moved back here from out west, I only packed as much as I could fit in my car. Sadly, I ended up sacrificing 99% of my kitchen items along with many other items that were precious to me, but did not fit in my vehicle..or that could not take the place of other more precious items..like pets). I have never baked muffins before (though I have made a million cupcakes), and I thought that it would be a fun idea to make muffins from scratch to take to the brunch affair, so I decided to do so. And as luck would have it, I found these adorable muffin tin liners, and had to use them!

Perfect for Mom, no?

So, I did what I always do and looked up muffin recipes on Allrecipes and chose one of the highest rated ones, To Die For Blueberry Muffins.To die for? Let’s see!! I made them. Here goes!

Ingredients: Flour (1 & 1/2 cups), White Sugar (3/4 Cup), Salt (1/2 tsp), Veggie Oil (forgot to picture it, but I did use it ๐Ÿ˜› 1/3 cup), Egg (1), Milk (1/3 cup), Fresh Blueberries (1 cup), and for the crumb mixture to go on top: Flour (1/3 cup), Butter (1/4 cup), and Ground Cinnamon (1 & 1/2 tsp).

In a large bowl, combine white sugar, flour, salt and baking powder.

In a measuring cup, combine oil, egg and milk. I mixed mine with a fork.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and combine.

Gently fold in the blueberries. Don’t squish them – be nice!!

In a lined baking pan, add the muffin batter. The directions said to line them to the top of the liners and then put the crumb mixture on top. I clearly did the crumb mixture wrong and made it creamy with the butter instead of “crumby.” DO NOT DO WHAT I DID! Make your mixture crumby. My muffins came out funny on top because of it. Sprinkle the correct crumb mixture on the muffins before baking them. Pop them in the oven at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes. It took mine about 23 to be totally done.

Not the prettiest muffins in the world, but again, I did the crumb thing wrong. Derp! Despite their awkward appearance, they are very delicious and I think I will be baking a second batch and doing it correctly. ๐Ÿ™‚

So happy Mother’s Day to all the mommies out there! I hope someone makes you muffins too!

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking, Cooking, Food, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

