Brownies: The Real Deal

So today has been fun and eventful! The Ryan and I were supposed to go to an air show at the local Air Force base, but he decided at the last minute he’d rather stay around the house today – which is legit. Next weekend will be spent mostly in the car, driving to and fro seeing grandparents.

Instead, we got up early and after breakfast, we headed to the local Dutch market for a big score. 🙂 $76 for….19 meals worth of meat? That’s $4 a meal, and we can no longer fit any more meat into the freezer.

Righteous, yea? And yay Grey Goose!

We also ran next door at my request to the Asian market and picked up a few things. See those dumpling wrappers? Look for a blog on them next week. And I have to say – we picked up a flank steak today (all of the meat is locally grown, free range, with no hormones or steroids), and I have never had such a moment of respecting my food. I know it sounds weird, but you could literally see every muscle in this piece of flank steak, and suddenly as I stood there cutting the meat down to portion, I found myself thinking “This came from what was a strong, healthy and powerful animal.” I deeply respect and appreciate that – and how much it means that that creature is feeding my tiny family. It somehow gave me a new appreciation for my food and the farmers that raise their animals the right way. 🙂 As you can see, we freezer bagged all of our stuff with a Food Saver. Before today, I was still cooking meat we had bought back in March – and it was still fresh! Pretty nifty, huh? I highly recommend getting one – it’s worth the investment.

We came home, stored our meat, and went about our business. I started dishes and the Ryan wandered off to play Tank Wars or whatever other video game he felt like playing today. I got bored, and my sweet tooth kicked in (which happens often when I’m bored), so I thought HEY! I still have a bunch of cocoa powder I need to use..why don’t I bake brownies? I found the recipe on Allrecipes.com, Brooke’s Best Bombshell Brownies. It was very highly rated, so I figured why not? The Ryan is being very strict to his diet (I’m a bit more flexible :P), and if I don’t eat all of these by Tuesday, they will be sent to work with him for his co-workers. I get to bake and eat chocolatey goodness? And send some to the hungry engineers? Win, win, win. Besides – after that huge tangent on how awesome blondies are the other day, I owe the original brownie a bit of respect, right?

So let’s get started!

Ingredients: Butter (1 cup, melted), Unsweetened Cocoa Powder (1 cup), Sugar (3 cups), Chocolate Morsels (1 cup), Salt (1 tsp), All-Purpose Flour (1 & 1/2 cup), Vanilla (1 tbls), Eggs (4).

In a large bowl, mix the sugar, melted butter and vanilla.

Add eggs, one at a time, mixing thoroughly after each addition.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, cocoa powder and salt.

Gradually mix the flour mixture into the dry bowl until combined.

Add the chocolate morsels, and stir them in well.

I folded in the morsels with a spatula instead of my hand mixer.

In a lightly greased 9×13 pan, bake the brownies at 350 for 35-40 minutes, or until done. Remove and allow to cool on a wire rack before cutting.

I have to admit, right now, they are cooling (I just pulled them out about 10 minutes ago) and I am so eager to eat them I can hardly stand it! They smelled amazing while baking and I kinda wish we had ice cream for a la mode..but alas, we do not..which is fine. Less calories! (If you can really convince yourself of that). Enjoy these, I sure will!

Edit: Okay, so, I just couldn’t take it anymore!! I totally had to have a brownie. They are soooo decadent, rich, fudgy..Mmmm, delicious! Best part? They’re still warm, but not so warm that you can’t taste them. They are gooey perfection. I will be making these for parties and gatherings from now on!

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking, Cooking, Food, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

