Keepin’ with the Cookies: Oatmeal Raisin

Keeping with the “use what you’ve got” theme that A Lot On Your Plate is using for her cookie bake-off this week, I decided to bake some more cookies. I am not entering these – I did that with the loft house. Though, truth be told, I should’ve entered these because they were much more tasty and soooo much easier.

But the real reason that I made them is because I am slowly accumulating more kitchen stuff than I have space for, and playing Legos in my cabinets and pantry just wasn’t an option anymore. So…what are the things that I have in my cabinets that I never use? Rolled oats. I made the cardamom blondies twice…in like 3-4 months. I know it’s a good source of fiber and good for your heart, but oatmeal just does not appeal to me. BUT! Disguising it in the form of cookies almost makes me believe that I’m feeding myself something moderately healthy. After all, there are raisins too, right?

Three cups of rolled oats in this recipe and I can kiss the rest of that huge container of Quaker goodbye. I also decided that I will be making cupcakes with the remainder of my cake flour and pastry flour – I only have one cup of cake flour left…=( Not much to do a whole lot of anything with, and lord knows I only used the pastry flour once. So I might as well improvise! My poor pantry is suffering.

And hey, oatmeal raisin cookies are  nice reminder of your childhood and they’re delicious so what have you got to lose? I think, though, that the Ryan and I may just keep these here in our cookie jar and nom on them throughout the remainder of the week. The recipe I found is especially delicious, as it calls for the addition of cloves. It gives the cookies a nice different element. I adapted the recipe from Beth’s Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies that I found on Allrecipes.com.

So, let’s get baking and get rid of these oats!!

Ingredients: Baking Soda (1 tsp), Sugar (1/2), Ground Cloves (1/2 tsp), Rolled Oats (3 cups), Eggs (2), Butter (1 stick/1 cup, softened), Light Brown Sugar (1 cup, packed), Vanilla Extract (1 tsp), All Purpose Flour (1 & 1/2 cups), Raisins (1 cup), Salt (1/2 tsp), Ground Cinnamon (1 tsp)

In a large bowl, combine eggs, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla and butter.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, cloves, cinnamon, baking soda and salt.

Gradually mix the flour mixture into the wet ingredients, combining thoroughly. Then, stir in oats and raisins (I forgot to get a pic..oops!).

On a cookie sheet, drop your dough for cookies!

Bake for 9 minutes, then remove and cool for 3-5 minutes before removing to a wire rack.

Enjoy your cookies!! The Ryan has been eating them nonstop since he got home tonight. As a matter of fact, he just walked around the corner with one. So make sure you get enough for yourself or make a double batch!!

2 Comments

Filed under Baking, Cooking, Food, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Keepin’ with the Cookies: Oatmeal Raisin

  1. Jo

    Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog. I love oatmeal raisin cookies, yours look amazing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

