Cheesy Potato Soup

Sorry for the lack of appearances, guys! Things have been kind of hectic, especially today! Well, since Sunday, really. I have attended my first exam review (yep, had a midterm already..har har), aced my first quizzes in math (which I hope keeps up, we’ll see), and been trying to be diligent about my homework. Unfortunately, though I am able to complete about 90% of my reading, one of my textbooks makes me wish I was pulling teeth or stuck in a car with someone singing “this is the song that doesn’t end” repeatedly instead. Yes, it’s really that boring.

This weekend was good in that the Ryan actually had it off and we could hang out, but bad in that I spent 10 hours in the ER from Sunday into Monday morning, missed my classes, missed a test, and otherwise lost an entire day of lecture, which made me mad. The good news? I don’t have a heart condition OR a blood clot in my lungs! Huzzah! (I was admitted for severe chest pain lasting multiple hours). The bad news? The cartilage around my ribs and the lining of my lungs are inflamed, thanks to all the walking germ bags students at school that are kind enough to openly spread their illnesses.  So after my awesome ER visit in which I got EKG’d, x-rayed, vampired and injected with radioactive isotopes (and I got to breathe radioactive gas!),  I finally got released. Since neither of us had slept, the Ryan and I went home and crashed. Sadly, we could only nap for about an hour and then had to get up and make the haul down to my doctor’s office for the rest of the evening. Exciting, no?

This morning, I got up late, felt awful, forgot my coffee, and got in a fender-bender outside of school. I’m fine, she’s fine, it was my fault, and I totally got screamed at incessantly over a scratch in the paint. But that’s okay. Who needs low insurance rates, anyway? Things turned around on campus, thankfully, and then a few hours after I got to work, the amazingly horrific storm we were experiencing today led to a tornado warning and all of us ended up hiding in inner shelters (we have interior shelters in our building since the whole damn thing is glass) until being released to go home. Ironically, despite the storm, I have to say that this afternoon’s commute is probably one of the best commutes I’ve ever had. Nobody sped or power-weaved, everyone gave each other wide berth, and they all drove at a reasonable speed appropriate to the torrents being blown around us at 40+ mph. The only beef is that some idiots weren’t privy to the “wipers on, lights on” law, and made it extremely difficult to see them. That’s annoying.

So, with the craptastic start to my week (I must be facing karmic retribution for some recent wrong-doing), and the rainy, windy misery settling in outside to stay overnight, what better thing to have for dinner than soup? I found this recipe on Pinterest this past weekend, and when the Ryan saw it as well and went “OooOOoooOoooh, that looks yummy!” I decided hey! Why not?

Let’s make some sooooooooup!

You will need: 1 onion (diced), 1 cup celery (I forgot to picture it), garlic (1 tbls, minced), all-purpose flour (2 tbls), potatoes (6 cups, peeled and diced), dry mustard (1 tbls), paprika (2 tsp), chicken broth (I forgot to picture that too, it’s been a rough day – 3 cups), Worcestershire sauce (1 tbls), Tabasco sauce (1 tsp), shredded cheddar cheese (4 cups), half-and-half (2 cups), bacon, salt, pepper and cayenne pepper to taste, minced scallions (for garnish).

First, I prepped everything. 🙂 Cuz you need to do those things.

Cook some bacon in your soup pot and set aside on some paper towels when cooked. Drain off all but 2 tbls of the drippings.

Saute onion, celery and garlic in the bacon drippings until the onion is soft.

Stir in flour and cook for about 2 minutes.

Add potatoes, dry mustard and paprika and stir to coat the potatoes.

Then add broth, Worcestershire sauce and Tabasco sauce.

Bring to a boil and then reduce heat and simmer until potatoes are tender, about 10-15 minutes.

When potatoes are tender, mash them coarsely and then add half -and-half and cheese and stir until cheese is melted.

Season with salt, pepper and cayenne to taste.

Garnish with bacon and scallions. Yum!

The Ryan and I just finished this. It was a hit! He totally loved it, and I must say, I did too. We have some left, so yay for another round tomorrow! 😀 Or maybe the next day. With bread or something. Like Panera!

Anyway, make this. It’s awesome!

I am going to retire with a glass of wine and a book and kiss this horrible day (and week) goodbye!

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Cheesy Potato Soup

  1. Sounds VERY good!!! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I made a version of potato soup last night too. Sometimes it’s the best cure for a crappy day/week/year!

Leave a Reply

