Oops! And News!

I know, I know! I said I’d do “Freezer Meals” on Sunday, right? I’m a slacker. That was totally yesterday. And I’m still not doing them today! (I am, instead, reading the last 25 pages of this Method and Theory assignment and making Spaghetti)

You see, I was sidetracked on Friday night. What does Friday night have to do with Sunday? Well, just hang on. The Ryan came home from work Friday evening and despite the fact that it was totally snowing outside, asked if we could go to Outback. Not wanting to turn down free Aussie cheese fries (when you share them, they are only half the calories, AMIRITE?) and the opportunity to get some delicious dinner, I agreed and braced myself the entire time we were driving because the roads may as well have been covered in road tar slurpees. We sat in our usual booth and enjoyed a nice, quiet dinner with prompt service because nobody in their right minds wanted to drive out in the snow.

When we safely returned home, I took the opportunity to pelt the Ryan with snow…He sought revenge, but I got him good (I won). After putting on some tea, the Ryan suggested we watch a movie, and I agreed. While I waited for the water to boil, I came back to our couch and sat on his lap…where he asked me two questions: “Do you love me?” and “Will you spend the rest of your life with me?”

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

MyRing

Look at that, boys and girls! My best friend in the entire universe just asked me to spend my life with him. (He did an awesome job, did he not? Picked that out all by himself! I may just be biased because he got my dream ring, but I don’t think I am. ^_~) As it turns out, the Ryan didn’t come home from work on Friday after all. He came home from the jeweler!

The mundane details of our evening may seem insignificant to you folk, but they perfectly entailed our entire relationship. Outback? One of our favorite places to eat. We usually go once a month just to be served so I don’t have to cook once in a while. And we always sit in the same booth. We usually end up with the same waiter, too, which is kind of fun. It’s a nice little “us” thing. Snow? Snow is the MOST romantic thing in my book…Yeah, it’s cold. But it’s quiet, it’s delicate, and it changes the landscape into a sparkling blanket of serenity. I absolutely LOVE snow…and I love my best friend. We play together, we wrestle, we dance in the rain, so a snowball fight on a nice winter evening is totally us. As for the movie? How to Tame Your Dragon. Yeah, it’s silly…but it’s the first movie we ever saw together. When we first started dating and didn’t live together, I would come over for the weekends and Fridays were our “Mega Movie Friday” date – we’d either order a pizza or go out to eat and then curl up under a blanket and watch movies until the wee hours of the morning together. With my schooling and his deployment (which lasted up until Christmas, if you can believe it O_O!) the movies fell to the wayside, so the fact that he wanted to get back into our first ever tradition really made it that much more special. And finally, “Will you spend the rest of your life with me” is a very special and meaningful line in our relationship – it’s part of a silly rhyme we recite back and forth to each other in banter. I won’t share it, though, it’s private. 😛

To top it off, when the Ryan’s grandmother died last year, he inherited her wedding ring (his grandparents were married for 72 years or so! Amazing!) and he has worked it out with the jeweler to design my wedding band to include the center stone from her ring…Which, of course, made me bawl like nobody’s business. It was the most touching and sweet thing ever, and it’s going to be so beautiful when everything is put together.

Needless to say, not much got done this weekend. We did our shopping at the Amish market, and I took the Ryan to Cold Stone for some celebratory splurge ice cream..after all, I can’t buy him a diamond..But he really REALLY likes ice cream. 🙂 So it worked (for now). Otherwise, we just spent our time hanging out and floating on our little cloud of congratulations and excitement from friends and family. I will do a crock pot meal, I promise. I have to get one together tomorrow for Wednesday, after all!

Look for it! ❤

3 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Oops! And News!

  1. Congratulations! He gets an A+ for the ring, the romance, and for taking up your whole weekend being sweet so you don’t have time to cook and write. How wonderful for you!

Leave a Reply

