Chicken Parmesan

Hello there, everyone! 😀

It’s Sunday, and it’s supposed to be a lazy day, but alas, it is far from it! Actually, it has been a half lazy day. We’re cleaning our house, but we’re doing it slowly. We’ve got guests coming on Tuesday, and we helped our friends move to a beautiful new house yesterday (omg I want one!), so it has been an active weekend. Needless to say, we’re not in the biggest hurry to clean our own house today. The living room looks good, though, as does the hallway. I’m half cleaning the kitchen in between errands, eating lunch, and surfing the Gardening section of Pinterest.

The other night, when the Polar Vortex was still visiting us, I made the Ryan and I chicken parmesan, but lightened up, SkinnyTaste style! I love Skinny Taste! I wish I could just jump through the computer screen and eat all the food she posts! And I love her alternative and low calorie spins on traditional foods! Since it was about 7 degrees outside, a 450 degree oven didn’t actually sound all that bad! Plus, it gave me a chance to use my new rack for the oven! Win/Win, right?

Anyway, let’s get started!

IMG_20140108_184105059 First, let’s get started with ingredients. The SkinnyTaste Recipe called for seasoned whole wheat bread crumbs. I didn’t have that, though, so I used Panko bread crumbs that I crushed up to be a bit smaller, and then added some Italian Seasoning to the plate. It’s lazy seasoned bread crumbs, yay! And a special thanks to my friend Emily, who always sends me Penzey’s Spices for Christmas/Birthday/Wedding, whatever. I *love* them. They smell good, they taste amazing, and they are excellent quality! Anyway, I used their Italian Seasoning and it was sooooooo good.

IMG_20140108_184708963 My chicken breasts were a bit fat on one side and I was worried about them cooking unevenly, so I put a sheet of wax paper over them and went to town with my meat tenderizer (the flat side not the pointy side) to get them evenly thick.

IMG_20140108_185300646 I melted two tbls of butter and used a kitchen brush to paint the butter on each side of the chicken. I then dipped the chicken in the bread crumbs. I totally forgot to put the parmesan cheese in the bread crumb mixture, so I just sprinkled some on top. I lined a cookie sheet with foil and then put the chicken breasts on my baking rack. I then stuck them in my 450 degree oven for 20 minutes.

IMG_20140108_191824165While the chicken was cooking, I put some of the marinara sauce in a small pot to be warmed, and started some noodles. Gina’s recipe calls for linguine, but I had some leftover whole wheat “egg” noodles from some soup I made a couple weeks ago, and decided to use those instead. I got a pot of water boiling for those and then put them in.

IMG_20140108_191750508

I also grated some mozzarella cheese, which is super un-fun since it’s a soft cheese. A trick I learned thanks to the masterful internet is to freeze the cheese a bit before you grate it to make it easier. Thank you, internet!

IMG_20140108_192219172After 20 minutes, I flipped the chicken and spooned one tablespoon of marinara sauce over each breast, and then topped with mozzarella cheese. I put them back in the oven for an additional 5 minutes.

IMG_20140108_193002113 Et voila! I drained my noodles and plated them up with the marinara that I’d warmed in my pot, placed the chicken over the noodles, and topped with some freshly chopped parsley.

Easy, quick, warm, delicious! The Ryan was amazing and surprised me with Episode 2 of the new season of Sherlock, which he had DVR’d without me knowing! AHHHHHH BENEDICT CUMBERBATCH! *Swoon* Let’s be honest: Smaug (bonus points since John Watson is also Bilbo Baggins! :D), Khan, AND Sherlock Holmes? Oh yeah, baby. He’s the celebrity crush that will never be fulfilled. And that’s okay! 😀

sherlock-benedict-cumberbatch   Well, I guess I’d better go finish cleaning…….or something………*sigh* Have a great day!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking, Cooking, Food, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

